Review: Frostbite by Richelle Mead

Frostbite by Richelle Mead
Genre: Young Adult
Format: ebook, 327 pgs
Read: 8/10/2011 – 8/15/2011
Release Date: 
April 10th 2008

Links
Richelle Mead –  website – TwitterFacebook
Amazon –  KindlePaperback
Book Depository – Paperback
Add it to Goodreads

Why I Started This Book:

When I first saw the cover for Bloodlines and started to read the summary, and discover it was a spin-off I went in search for the original series on Goodreads. In my contry there’s a lot of talking about Richelle Mead books, so decided to give it a shot and was very impressed.
Summary:
Rose loves Dimitri, Dimitri might love Tasha, and Mason would die to be with Rose…
It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians—including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if hand-to-hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks… This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.
But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price…
 

Caracters:

My Thoughts:

Frostbite is the second book in Richelle Meads’ Vampire Academy series and it is just as good as the first. 
We can she how Rose grows on this book, especially when she loses a close friend and consider herself guilty for his death. Dimitri shows a different side of him, more friendly towards Rose and their ‘friendship’. 
We also see Rose’s mother Janine and understand more why she chose to raise Rose that way. And why Rose fells like she’d been abandoned by her mother. It’s a choice: career or family. One that Rose has already made by being Lisa’s guardian.

On the side there is Lisa and Christian relationship evolution, especially with some steamy scenes. They grow up alone and I can understand that they see each other like a soul mate.

You Might Enjoy This Book If:

You liked the first one, is series so is recommended read #1 before the #2.

Favorite Quotes:
“You can’t force love, I realized. It’s there or it isn’t. If it’s not there, you’ve got to be able to admit it. If it is there, you’ve got to do whatever it takes to protect the ones you love.”
“what’s your name?”
what?” i asked, squinting at the light.
your name.” I reconized Dr. Olendzki peering over me.
you know my name.”
I want you to tell me.”
Rose. Rose Hathaway.”
Do you know your birthday?”
Of course I do. Why are you asking me such stupid things? Did you lose my records?”
Dr. Olendzki gave an exasperated sigh and walked off, taking the annoying light with her. “I think she’s fine,”
“You know what would help?” I asked, not meeting his eyes.
“Hmm?”
“If you turned off this crap music and put on something that came out after the Berlin Wall went down.”
Dimitri laughted. “Your worst class is history, yet somehow, you know everything about Eastern Europe.”
“Hey, gotta have material for my jokes, Comrade.” Still smiling, he turned the radio dail. To a country station.
“Hey! This isn’t what I had in mind,” I exclaimed. I could tell he was on the verge of laughing again.
“Pick. It’s one or the other.”
I sighed. “Go back to the 1980s stuff.”
He flipped the dail, and I crossed my arms over my chest as some vaguely European-sounding band sang about how video had killed the radio star. I wished someone would kill this radio.”
“Not into older guys, huh?” asked Adrian once we were alone.
“You’re imagining things,” I said. “Clearly, my stunning beauty has clouded your mind.”
“Belikov is a sick, evil man who should be thrown into a pit of rabid vipers for the great offense he commited against you this morning.”
“Thank you.” I said primly. Then, I considered. “Can vipers be rabid?”
“I don’t see why not. Everything can be. I think. Canadian geese might be worse than vipers, though.”
“Canadian geese are deadlier than vipers?”
“You ever try to feed those little bastards? They’re vicious. You get thrown to vipers, you die quickly. But the geese? That’ll go on for days. More suffering.”
“Wow. I don’t know whether I should be impressed or frightened that you’ve thought about all of this.”

Other Reviews:

 Book Chick City

Rating:

    
Series:

  1. Vampire Academy
  2. Frostbite
  3. Shadow Kiss
  4. Blood Promise
  5. Spirit Bound
  6. Last Sacrifice
Leave a Reply

