Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)Title: Obsidian
Author:  Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Lux
Publisher:  Entangled Teen
Format: ebook
ISBN: 1620610078
Genre: Young Adult
Release date: May 8th 2012
Number of pages: 335

Photobucket

 
Summary

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My Thoughts
On the same weekend I read two books showing aliens and discovered that is fascinating to create this new humanoids and try to show them as equals to us. Obsidian shows exactly this and the government knows about the and chose to watch and let them live among us.
Katy’s mother decided to move to a new town three years after her husband died and start a new life. Katy is seventeen and is starting her last high school year so this moving was not very good for her, especially when she goes to a little town is West Virginia.
So her mom pushed her to met new friends and she tried with the wrong person. One day she knocked on Daemon door and he’s super grumpy. So from the first moment we know he’s not very friendly and Katy discovered he’s also super hot.
Question: Why they have to be gorgeous? Daemon and Katy started going out some times, but not as in dating, more like his sister was pushing him to it. Dee is Katy best friend and she wants to continue this way, but Daemon can’t stop being bad.
Weird things started happening and one night Katy was assaulted because some crazy guy was after “them”, she had no idea what he wanted but he’s just one more strange thing, along with lighting and a girl disappearing one year before she moved.
I’m going to jump the spoilers and say this book was a fast read for me. Can’t tell what was more intriguing: the mysteries, Daemon’s attitude or Katy investigation. I loved Katy personality and of course the fact that she is a blogger. Daemon wasn’t so bad after I realized he’s reasons. Let’s face it, he’s cute with his sister and it’s always protector with the other Lux people.
I loved the book, the writing, the story was captivating and kept me wanting to read more and now I can’t wait for the next book, but already dived into Shadows.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Books in this Series

#0.5 – Shadows

#1 – Obsidian

#2 – Onix (Expected publication: August 14th 2012)

#3 – Opal (Expected publication: December 11th 2012)

#4 – Untitled

Quote

“Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the holy trinity of hot boys.”
Rating

 
Photobucket

Leave a Reply

