Review: Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep

Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin, #1)Title: Spider’s Bite
Author:  Jennifer Estep
Series: Elemental Assassin
Publisher:  Pocket Books
Format: ebook
ISBN: 1439147973
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
Release date: January 26th 2010
Number of pages: 395

My name is Gin, and I kill people.

They call me the Spider. I’m the most feared assassin in the South — when I’m not busy at the Pork Pit cooking up the best barbecue in Ashland. As a Stone elemental, I can hear everything from the whispers of the gravel beneath my feet to the vibrations of the soaring Appalachian Mountains above me. My Ice magic also comes in handy for making the occasional knife. But I don’t use my powers on the job unless I absolutely have to. Call it professional pride.

Now that a ruthless Air elemental has double-crossed me and killed my handler, I’m out for revenge. And I’ll exterminate anyone who gets in my way — good or bad. I may look hot, but I’m still one of the bad guys. Which is why I’m in trouble, since irresistibly rugged Detective Donovan Caine has agreed to help me. The last thing this coldhearted killer needs when I’m battling a magic more powerful than my own is a sexy distraction…especially when Donovan wants me dead just as much as the enemy.


Photobucket

I liked this book and it’s not a surprise since I loved Jennifer Estep Mythos Academy series, but what made me giddy for the end was Gin to fully accept her life and try to live with her past.
 
She’s an assassin and a damn good at it, but what made her this way is simply the only thing she can not forget, her family was murdered and she was tortured but the killer is still a mystery and she tried to survive on the streets and the only person to help her, transformed her in a killer.
 
She’s also an elemental, but what I liked was the fact she doesn’t use her powers to kill, only her body and she’s really good in the killing part, almost merciful. I liked how honest she is and that her jobs are usually with the lowlife bastards that got unpunished by society.
 
This book Gin was trying to save herself and discover who killed her mentor. She was caught in the middle of a crazy game and she was not happy about it, but I liked the way she handled things and how smart she is. Detective Caine was a pleasant surprise and I was happy with his motives. People were also trying to kill him and Gin decided to help him and of course it was a lot difficult, because they have a bad history behind.
 
There’s also a bit of steamy in the book, between the detective and Gin, but will definitely see more of him and his thoughts. He’s too good and doesn’t believe people can be bad, sometimes. He clearly doesn’t exist.
 
I liked the book and the investigation was fast and complete. Gin was awesome. A strong girl and decided.
 
Photobucket

SERIES IN ORDER

#1 – Spider’s Bite
#2 – Web of Lies
#3 – Venom
#4 – Tangled Threads
#5 – Spider’s Revenge
#5.5 – Thread of Death
#6 – By a Thread
#7 – Widow’s Web
#8 – Deadly Sting (Expected publication: March 26th 2013)

2 thoughts on “Review: Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep

Leave a Reply

