Review: Spider’s Revenge by Jennifer Estep

Spider’s Revenge (Elemental Assassin, #5)

Old habits die hard for assassins.

And I plan on murdering someone before the night is through.

Killing used to be my regular gig, after all. Gin Blanco, aka the Spider, assassin-for-hire. And I was very, very good at it. Now, I’m ready to make the one hit that truly matters: Mab Monroe, the dangerous Fire elemental who murdered my family when I was thirteen. Oh, I don’t think the mission will be easy, but turns out it’s a bit more problematic than expected. The bitch knows I’m coming for her. So now I’m up against the army of lethal bounty hunters Mab hired to track me down. She also put a price on my baby sister’s head. Keeping Bria safe is my first priority. Taking Mab out is a close second. Good thing I’ve got my powerful Ice and Stone magic—and my irresistible lover, Owen Grayson—to watch my back. This battle has been years in the making, and there’s a good chance I won’t survive. But if I’m going down, then Mab’s coming with me . . . no matter what I have to do to make that happen.

Title: Spider’s Revenge
Author:  Jennifer Estep
Series: Elemental Assassin
Publisher:  Pocket Books
Format: ebook
ISBN: 1439192642
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: September 27th 2011
Number of pages: 367

 
Photobucket

Finally the big finale for the revenge Gin Blanco is planning against Mab Monroe. I have to say that I’m surprise the author decided to make the fight so soon in the story, but it was full of emotion and so powerful. We can see Gin doubt during the book but I was pretty sure she would end up on top with her name still intact.

Owen was my favorite character during this book, he’s so sweet and loveable in a very manly way. He’s strong and so in love with Gin that we can see him fighting giants just to protect her. He proved several times that he’s perfect for her and we also discovered her life was connected with his way earlier than Gin had considered.

We can also see Bria coming to terms with Gin job and finally giving in to Finn, although for me it was at the wrong time, but she deserved someone carefree like him to chase the ghosts of her past away. Also several of Gin friends make an appearance on this book, like Roslyn, Jo-Jo.

Everyone was really important to make possible the grand finale against Mab, but the only way Gin could win, was once she accepted her dual elementals and learned how to fight with them in her favor.

Oh, and a very special appearance for me was the perfect way the author managed to include Fletcher on the end. He was very important to help Gin became the best and make possible her attack on Mab.

 

SERIES IN ORDER

#0.5 – Poison
#0.6 – Web of Deceit
#0.7 –
Spider’s Bargain
#1 – Spider’s Bite
#1.5 – Web of Death
#2 – Web of Lies
#2.5 – Wasted
#3 – Venom
#3.5 – Tangled Dreams
#3.6 – Tangled Schemes
#4 – Tangled Threads
#4.5 – Spider’s Nemesis
#5 – Spider’s Revenge
#5.5 – Thread of Death
#6 – By a Thread
#7 – Widow’s Web
#8 – Deadly Sting (Expected publication: March 26th 2013)

Leave a Reply

