Review: By a Thread by Jennifer Estep

By a Thread (Elemental Assassin, #6)

When killing people is your job, there’s no such thing as a vacation. Then again, how often does an assassin live long enough to enjoy her retirement? In this line of work, you either get lucky or you get dead. And since I destroyed my nemesis Mab Monroe a few weeks ago, all of Ashland’s lowlifes are gunning to make a name for themselves by taking out the lethal Spider—me, Gin Blanco. So I’m leaving behind my beloved barbecue joint and heading south with my baby sister, Bria, to cool my heels in a swanky beach town. Call it a weekend of fun in the sun. But when a powerful vampire with deadly elemental magic threatens an old friend of Bria’s, it looks like I’ll have to dig my silverstone knives out of my suitcase after all. Complicating matters further is the reappearance of Detective Donovan Caine, my old lover. But Donovan is the least of my problems. Because this time, the danger is hot on my trail, and not even my elemental Ice and Stone magic may be enough to save me from getting buried in the sand—permanently.

Title: By a Thread
Author:  Jennifer Estep
Series: Elemental Assassin
Publisher:  Pocket
Format: ebook
ISBN: 1451651767
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: February 28th 2012
Number of pages: 356

 
Photobucket

This series was a great surprise and I was following Gin revenge against Mab, but the reason that actually made me jump ahead to this book was the fact that Mab is gone now and I wanted to know how different Gin life would be after Ashland discovered she is actually the Spider.

I’m not surprised but there were several attempts of killing her, making it seems like Jonah McAllister is really after finishing her, but I liked the fact that she wasn’t happy about it and it didn’t change her life.

Her relationship with Owen is still very strong after they admitted their feelings and now the only real problem she has is how to connect with Bria. Finn being really nice and all decided a vacation was in order and I liked to see Gin in a different place and having fun once in her life with family and friends.

Not surprising danger found its way to Gin and she became involved with another Gig. Collie was Bria best friend since childhood, so when Gin discovered a big and bad vampire was trying to kill her and buy her restaurant, she jumped to help.

Several things made me really this book would not be perfect. At first Gin didn’t make a plan to actually kill the vampire and there were rumors about his abilities and the fact he had elemental in his side, but Gin never really discovered before the job. She decided to give him a chance to back off, but was surprised by the fact he knew who she was and Jonah was actually his buddy, so things didn’t turn up very good.

I’ve never see Gin so careless, but I blame Donovan Caine, can you imagine his back? I was never much of his fan, but this book made me really hate and of course love even more Owen.

I liked the action, but it wasn’t Gin style. Fun book and I had a feelings things would be bad before they turned good. Bria finally accepted Gin jobs and her reasons, so in the end it was all worth it.

 

SERIES IN ORDER

#0.5 – Poison
#0.6 – Web of Deceit
#0.7 –
Spider’s Bargain
#1 – Spider’s Bite
#1.5 – Web of Death
#2 – Web of Lies
#2.5 – Wasted
#3 – Venom
#3.5 – Tangled Dreams
#3.6 – Tangled Schemes
#4 – Tangled Threads
#4.5 – Spider’s Nemesis
#5 – Spider’s Revenge
#5.5 – Thread of Death
#6 – By a Thread
#7 – Widow’s Web
#8 – Deadly Sting (Expected publication: March 26th 2013)

One thought on “Review: By a Thread by Jennifer Estep

Leave a Reply

