Young Adult Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

The Elite (The Selection, #2)

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.
America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.
Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

Title: The Elite
Author:  Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection
Publisher: Harper Teen
Format: ebook
ISBN: 0062059963
Genre: Young Adult
Release date: April 23rd 2013
Number of pages: 323
Photobucket
 
I was so anxious for this book that I devoured a novella and was left unhappy about the waiting for the next one. Sometimes the worst part is wait for the next volume.
 
I devoured this book, but was left really sad, because for once I have no idea who America will chose, I an only hope it’s Maxon because he is my favorite and he showed a good side on this story, plus he’s trying to change some rules. We also got to see some very disturbing scenes of the monarchy and a few questions were answered about the rebels.
 
I kept waiting for something bad to happen and when it did was so big that I was really afraid for America, but things are more disturbing than ever and I’m afraid that the final book will have some bad things happening. America was really out of league with her latest stunt, but I liked how she fought until the end, and I get the feeling she really likes Maxon. So yay and I can’t wait for more.

SERIES IN ORDER

#0.5 – The Prince
#1 – The Selection 

#2 – The Elite
#3 – The One (Expected publication: 2014)

One thought on “Young Adult Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. I really want to start with this series but I'm not too thrilled to read about the love triangle. All the angst and heartbreak is a little too much for me at this moment. But… I'm rooting for Maxon. 😉

Leave a Reply

