Young Adult Review: Fall of Night by Rachel Caine

Fall of Night (The Morganville Vampires, #14)

Claire never thought she’d leave Morganville, but when she gets accepted into the graduate program at MIT, she can’t pass up the opportunity. Saying good-bye to her friends is bittersweet, especially since things are still raw and unsettled between Claire and her boyfriend, Shane.
Her new life at MIT is scary and exciting, but Morganville is never really far from Claire’s mind. Enrolled in a special advanced study program with Professor Irene Anderson, a former Morganville native, Claire is able to work on her machine, which is designed to cancel the mental abilities of vampires.
But when she begins testing her machine on live subjects, things quickly spiral out of control, and Claire starts to wonder whether leaving Morganville was the last mistake she’ll ever make…

Title: Fall of Night
Author:  Rachel Caine
Series: Morganville Vampires
Publisher:  New American Library
Format: ebook
ISBN: 045141425X
Genre: Young Adult
Release date: May 7th 2013
Number of pages: 352

I love this series and already thinking about saying goodbye is really sad, but Claire must face reality some day and I believe the vampires need to learn how to live alongside the humans and not just bossing them around.
I got the feeling this book was a little different than what I expected, but after the draug everything is strange in Morganville and now we also have Claire finally going to MIT. I never really thought this would happen but it was a nice change of scene, plus I think she need a time for herself and put her feelings in perspective.
Of course trouble found her and vampires were involved, but the best part for me about this book was the friendship. We can see Myrnin missing her and going to save Claire is the best part of them all. Oliver is back and the rest of the gang are also going to show up.
I liked the different town and the change some characters showed, Claire is missing Morganville and her friends, but she discovered that in town she already knew the danger and facing enemies know is way better.
I liked this book, it wasn’t my favorite in this series, but a nice change and a very dramatic ending. Can’t wait for the finale.

Series in Order

#1 – Glass Houses
#2 – The Dead’s Girl Dance
#2.6 – Grudge

#3 – Midnight Alley

#4 – Feast of Fools
#4.5 – Dead Man Stalking

#5 – Lord of Misrule

#6 – Carpe Corpus

#7 – Fade Out

#8 – Kiss of Death

#9 – Ghost Town

#10 – Bite Club

#10.5 – Anger Management
#11 – Last Breath
#12 – Black Dawn
#13 – Bitter Blood
#14 – Fall of Night 
#15 – Daylighters (Expected publication: November 5th 2013)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s