Romance Review: When We Touch by Brenda Novak

When We Touch (Whiskey Creek)

You’re invited to a wedding in Whiskey Creek, Heart of the Gold Country
Unfortunately, it’s the wrong wedding. Olivia Arnold is arranging the festivities—and it’s the hardest thing she’s ever done. Because she should be marrying Kyle Houseman. They were together for more than a year…. But her jealous sister, Noelle, stole him away—and now she’s pregnant.
All their friends in Whiskey Creek know as well as Olivia does that Kyle’s making a mistake. His stepbrother, Brandon, knows it, too. But Kyle’s determined to go through with it, for his child’s sake.
Olivia’s devastated, but surprisingly Brandon—the black sheep of the family–is there to provide comfort and consolation. The intensity between them, both physical and emotional, shows Olivia that maybe Kyle wasn’t the right man for her….
But is Brandon?

Title: When We Touch
Author: Brenda Novak
Series: Whiskey Creek
Publisher:  Harlequin
Format: free ebook from Amazon
Genre: Romance
Release date: August 1st 2012
Number of pages: 102

This was actually a longer novella, from my standards, but I read after the first book, because it’s usually better to understand the town and the people with a longer book. So I already knew the characters and it was nice meeting them again, but this one it’s set before book one.
Olivia was such a nice girl, and she deserves a better family, because everyone treats her so bad and believe she’s just jealous half the time, plus she has to do everything for her spoiled sister. When you take a look in the reason she is back in town it’s extremely wrong the way her mother and sister treats her, but she actually got better with this dose of reality and Brandon was a great change for her.
She needed a change and Brandon was perfect with his bad boy attitude, but full of good intentions. The wedding weekend was a nightmare, but Olivia learned to trust herself and survived just fine with a new love.

Series in Order

#0.5 – When We Touch
#1 – When Lightning Strikes

#2 – When Snow Falls
#3 – When Summer Comes
#4 – Home to Whiskey Creek
#5 – Take Me Home for Christmas (Expected publication: October 29th 2013)