Guest Post with author Bailey J Thompson

YellowSocksandBloodSpots-Title

Today I have author Bailey J Thompson answering a few question and talking about the release of her first book.

Why Write About Teenage Pregnancy?

The most logical answer for this question was that I was following my heart and doing what I needed to do, but I don’t think that’s the answer anybody is hoping for. Yellow Socks and Blood Spots was written because I felt there was a void that needed to be addressed. A simple Google search for teenage pregnancy reveals that the top results are for Teen Mom, 16 and Pregnant or the latest in statistics. Searching “abortion” brings you to a collage of pages directed toward pro-life or pro-choice.

The reality is that there are so many young women (and men) faced with this very touchy subject every single day. The problem is that the resources are limited, and the perspectives are varied.

This book isn’t about picking sides or telling anybody what is right… Yellow Socks and Blood Spots is about this beautiful and successful 17-year-old named Isabelle forced to make a life and death decision within a couple weeks of finding out about a beautiful disaster.

I really hope that this book will create perspective, and a reason for discussion. After all, wasn’t it Northrop Frye that said literature creates tolerance?

The Future?

Yellow Socks and Blood Spots came to a surprise to many as I am also a children’s picture book author and founder of Gerbil Meets Mouse Publishing. I currently have two kids picture books in production now.

As for other novels, I’ve actually spent the past four-five years working on another novel (writing Yellow Socks and Blood Spots was kind of a year break in between). I think that will be my next big (novel) project.

Yellow Socks and Blood Spots Cover

Two lines means pregnant, and pregnant is the very last thing seventeen-year-old Isabelle wanted to be. She’s just beginning her senior year, she’s rekindling the respectable relationship she once had with her family and she has finally fallen in love.

Her boyfriend, Jason wants an abortion, while Isabelle wants to give her baby a chance at life, whether that means adoption or raising her baby herself. Her situation raises a question of values, beliefs, rights, societal expectations and personal opinions, and as Isabelle’s friends and family discover the news, they seem to think they know what’s best for her and her baby. Within two weeks of finding out about their beautiful disaster, Isabelle and Jason have to come to a mutual agreement and make a life and death decision.

BaileyJThompson-AuthorPhotoRelease Date: May 15, 2013

Author: Bailey J. Thompson

Publisher: Yellow Iris Press

Website: www.yellowsocksandbloodspots.com

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/YellowSocksAndBloodSpots

 

 

 


And there’s also a chance for a signed copy on the Facebook. you just need to click here and like.

2 thoughts on “Guest Post with author Bailey J Thompson

  1. As the author called it, "A beautiful disaster" happens very often with teens nowadays. It's something hard to deal with at a very young age and I wouldn't like to face this situation, to have people telling you at what you went wrong, what you should do, instead of asking you what you would like to do and giving you all of their support. We all make mistakes and we learn from them, but that's no excuse to take a life however small it may be at the time. Thanks for the post!

  2. my name is mccart i never believe in spell casting, until when i was was tempted to try it. i and my husband have been having a lot of problem living together, he will always not make me happy because he have fallen in love with another lady outside our relationship, i tried my best to make sure that my husband leave this woman but the more i talk to him the more he makes me fell sad, so my marriage is now leading to divorce because he no longer gives me attention. so with all this pain and agony, i decided to contact this spell caster to see if things can work out between me and my husband again. this spell caster who was a woman told me that my husband is really under a great spell that he have been charm by some magic, so she told me that she was going to make all things normal back. she did the spell on my husband and after 5 days my husband changed completely he even apologize with the way he treated me that he was not him self, i really thank this woman her name is Dr Aluta she have bring back my husband back to me i want you all to contact her who are having any problem related to marriage issue and relationship problem she will solve it for you. her email is traditionalspellhospital@gmail.com, she is a woman and she is great. wish you good time.

Leave a Reply

