Romance Guest Review: Forever My Girl by Heidi McLaughlin

Forever My Girl (Beaumont, #1)

I was never supposed to be a rock star. I had my life all planned out for me. Play football in college. Go to the NFL. Marry my high school sweetheart and live happily ever after.

I broke both our hearts that day when I told her I was leaving. I was young. I made the right decision for me, but the wrong decision for us. I’ve poured my soul into my music, but I’ve never forgotten her. Her smell, her smile.

And now I’m going back.

After ten years.

I hope I can explain that after all this time.

I still want her to be my forever girl.

Title: Forever My Girl
Author: Heidi McLaughlin
Publisher:  Bandit Publishing Company
Format: ebook (Kindle Edition)
ISBN: 0988695103
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release date: December 26th 2012
Number of pages: 302
Photobucket

Review by Melissa

First book in the Beaumont series, Forever my girl is a story about second chance love. It’s cute,  simple and a fast read. There’s not too much drama and I think it’s more realistic in some situations where you’d expect angst and jealousy to take over the emotions of the characters, making them act foolishly, instead of the mature grown-ups they’re supposed to be. I enjoyed the constant flashbacks of Josie’s and Liam’s high school years, how they fell in love and the activities they did together with their best friends. I found it to be beautiful and almost picture perfect.

But, there were some things I couldn’t slide down concerning the characters’ thoughts and actions. Liam left to pursue his dream, and I’m okay with that. The pressure and high expectations for him was too much when it isn’t something you really want. Yet, there could have been other ways to do it. Communication is of essence here and he clearly wasn’t very good at it (stage and songwriting is a completely different matter, he rocks). He seemed to be too possessive of Josie, always stating “my girl” “my girl” over and over again, when he had no right. And, what I thought to be too perfect was how easily he accepted he had a son with Josie, how he figured it out. He didn’t even doubt it for a second, and I know the kid looked exactly like him, but normal people always doubt this kind of things. Liam was trying TOO hard to have a connection with Josie, a reason to stay close to her and win her back.

On a side note, I heard Forever My Girl has been optioned to be a movie! Despite this book not being one of my all time favorites, I am looking forward to seeing it on the big screen.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Series in Order

#1 – Forever My Girl
#1.5 – My Everything
#2 – My Unexpected Forever

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

