Young Adult Guest Review: Marked by P.C. Cast + Kristin Cast

30183

The House of Night series is set in a world very much like our own, except in 16-year-old Zoey Redbird’s world, vampyres have always existed.  In this first book in the series, Zoey enters the House of Night, a school where, after having undergone the Change, she will train to become an adult vampire — that is, if she makes it through the Change.  Not all of those who are chosen do.  It’s tough to begin a new life, away from her parents and friends, and on top of that, Zoey finds she is no average fledgling.  She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess, Nyx.  But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers.  When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is misusing her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny–with a little help from her new vampyre friends.

Title: Marked
Author: P.C. Cast + Kristin Cast
Series: The House of Night series
Publisher:   St. Martin’s Griffin
Format: Print
ISBN: 0312360266
Genre: Young Adult
Release date: May 1st, 2007
Number of pages: 306
Photobucket

Review by Melissa

I remember back in my Twilight days when I was looking for a book to satiate my vampire hunger because I was in a desperate need to get over them, or at least, to obsess with something else. And, I recall Marked was always popping out as a book recommendation. I was definitely intrigued by the book description, but somehow, I never got around to reading the series.

Anyway, I finally got the chance to read Marked thanks to a library book sale (pretty awesome) and I’m very happy to say that it came out to be a really cool book. It has a great female lead character named Zoey Redbird, who doesn’t take poopies (hehe) from anyone, and is definitely a unique person both inside and out. I liked the way she lifted her head high and smiled when most would have searched a dark corner to hide and possibly to cry their eyes out.

The friendship Zoey built between Stevie Rae and the gang was also cute and sweet. I thought they were fun and nice fellows, though sometimes they came out to be a little bit too cheesy for my taste. On another matter, Erik Night was the super hot fledgling (vampyre in training) that was supposed to catch my heart along with Zoey’s, but sadly, he did not. Maybe because everything happened too fast, and I somehow got the feeling he was just interested in Zoey’s uniqueness. I don’t know, I just felt that, but my hunch may be completely wrong and I’ll probably end up falling hard for him too. It is wise to change opinions from time to time.

The House of Night series is great vampire goodness, filled with darkness both good and bad. I do want the next books, all of them. They are a ton! Hopefully they will be as good as this one, maybe even better and having them almost all available for purchase is definitely a plus. Go get them pronto!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Series in Order

#1 – Marked
#2 – Betrayed
#3 – Chosen
#4 – Untamed
#5 – Hunted
#6 – Tempted
#7 – Burned
#8 – Awakened
#9 – Destined
#11 – Revealed (October 15th, 2013)
#12 – Redeemed (2014)
 

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

