Young Adult Guest Review: Made of Stars by Kelley York

15739649Made of Stars by Kelley York
Series:
 Standalone
Publisher:
 Entangled Teen
Format:
eArc
ISBN: 162266020X
Genre: YA Thriller
Release date: October 1st 2013
Number of pages: 320
Source: I received this eARC directly from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

Summary:

When eighteen-year-old Hunter Jackson and his half sister, Ashlin, return to their dad’s for the first winter in years, they expect everything to be just like the warmer months they’d spent there as kids. And it is—at first. But Chance, the charismatic and adventurous boy who made their summers epic, is harboring deep secrets. Secrets that are quickly spiraling into something else entirely.

The reason they’ve never met Chance’s parents or seen his home is becoming clearer. And what the siblings used to think of as Chance’s quirks—the outrageous stories, his clinginess, his dangerous impulsiveness—are now warning signs that something is seriously off.

Then Chance’s mom turns up with a bullet to the head, and all eyes shift to Chance and his dad. Hunter and Ashlin know Chance is innocent…they just have to prove it. But how can they protect the boy they both love when they can’t trust a word Chance says?

Photobucket

Review by Melissa:

It’s… wow.

Made of Stars impressed me beyond words. I never thought I would come to love this book so much, but God did it affect me. I am still lost in Kelley York’s words and in her intriguing characters.

Hunter and Ashlin are these great half siblings, who love each other no matter what. They have different personalities, but in the long run, they are good and supporting for each other. While Hunter is this quiet thoughtful guy, Ashlin is more expressive and good with words. They decide to come back home and live with their dad after graduation to help around his time of need and of course, to reunite themselves with their best friend from childhood, Chance.

That is what astounded me the most, their big affection for Chance. I mean, they LOVED this boy. He was this person so essential to their lives. He had this way of entrancing you, to need him there to feel complete, just like Hunter and Ashlin did. His secrets though were always setting off my trust alarms. But then he would appear and I would forget everything and go willingly wherever he would take us. That is Chance.

Oh, I was constantly surprised. Mid through the story I tried to stop guessing, I never came even close to how everything would turn out, though I always knew the romance aisle of this story would be GLBT, and let me tell you, it was absolutely beautiful.

I am torn about how it ends, it’s unexpected and unfair. It’s bittersweet and, despite not being what I wanted it to be, I really can’t think of a better way of how it could have ended because this book is the real deal. It’s not the fall-into-place-perfectly kind of read. It is raw and tormenting, yet at the same time, hopeful and hauntingly fascinating.

I try without success to not think about it, I’m certainly stunned and heartbroken. I’m mystified and at the point where I ask myself why I like to inflict torture in my life. I have the urge to plaster stars into my ceiling, gather many dragon figurines and head out the freeway looking for a way to reach him.  Really, it’s quite hard to describe all the feels, you just have to read this book and see for yourself what I mean.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Contact the Author: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

