Young Adult Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Series:
Divergent
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen
Format:
ebook
ISBN: B00DGVFUJG
Genre: Young Adult
Release date: May 1st 2012
Number of pages: 314
Source: Bought
AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

Summary:

One choice can transform you, or destroy you.

Every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves, and herself, while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Photobucket

Review:

I have two reasons for only reading this book now, the first is cliffhanger. I almost died when I got to the end on the book and needed to wait so long to actually find out how Tris and Four would turn the drama upside down. And don’t get me wrong I waited a lot to start book one and finished in less than a day, it was that good. So the final book is releasing next week and I can finally get to the end, so this week sounded like a good one to read Insurgent.

It took me awhile to remember the things that happened, little things, because the book is full of drama and killing, but the story in Insurgent took awhile to get going. I found that in the first book the plot caught me since the start. It wasn’t a bad book, on the contrary I loved and the only reason it didn’t get the 5th star was the relationship between Tris and Four.

I go the feeling he was hiding things from her since the beginning and he treated her like a child, when in other times she was the most intelligent person for him. I didn’t like this duality in his character. They are finally together and I expected him to fight alongside her and believe in her after everything she has done in Divergent.

Marcus was a strange twist for me, because he never actually explained anything, more like he was buying time and throwing pebbles. Christina was a boring girl and I liked way more of her before WIll died. But she redeemed in the end.

Can’t wait to start Allegiant and discover how Tris is going to handle the backstabbing and final drama.

Contact the Author: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Series in Order

#0.1 – The Transfer
#0.2 – The Initiate
#0.3 – The Son
#0.4 – The Traitor
#1 – Divergent

#1.5 – Free Four
#2 – Insurgent
#3 – Allegiant

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Young Adult Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Insurgent is still waiting for me in my bookshelf and I can’t bring myself to start reading it even though I already preordered Allegiant a while back. Will have to read it this weekend… I don’t want the Divergent series to end!!! 😦 *sigh*

    • booktravels2 says:

      I can’t wait for Allegiant, should have waited a little whiel before starting this one, that way I could jump right in.

Leave a Reply

