Young Adult Review: Pawn by Aimee Carter

Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #1)Pawn by Aimee Carter
Series:
The Blackcoat Rebellion
Publisher:
Harlequin Teen
Format:
ARC
ISBN: 0373210558
Genre: Young Adult
Release date: November 26th 2013
Number of pages: 346
Source: NetGalley

AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

I received this book from NetGalley and Harlequin in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Summary:

YOU CAN BE A VII. IF YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING.

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister’s niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There’s only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that’s not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she’s only beginning to understand.

Photobucket

Review:

I usually have a hard time getting into a dystopian scenery. I loved Aimee Carter previous series so it was no surprise to see this book on my wish list. I grabbed the first day it hit on Netgalley and couldn’t wait to start, but the best part for me was getting to know Kitty and discovering more about the rebellion. I had no idea about the plot when I started but it was so fast to pull me in. We can really connect with Kitty and everything she’s going through. Her life was not easy and the world is so far away from perfect but when she got a second chance I was so hoping for her to grab it.

Lila at first sounds like a princess but I loved the way she is more than a pretty face and Kitty suffered a lot to fit in and pass the tests. It was very disturbing knowing what they did and how simple it was to just substitute a person. Sick family, but the rebellion was the best part for me and Kitty chose the right side and really step up to help. I liked this fearless side of her, reminded me of Kate from Goddess Test series.

I loved this book and will definitely catch the next one hoping for more Kitty adventures against the system.

Contact the Author: Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Series in Order

#1 – Pawn
#2 – Untitled (Expected publication: 2014)

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

