Urban Fantasy Review: Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost

Destined for an Early Grave (Night Huntress, #4)

Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Series: Night Huntress
ISBN: 0061583219
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date:  July 28th 2009
Number of pages: 355
Source: Bought

Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Goodreads


Her deadly dreams leave her in grave danger

Since half-vampire Cat Crawfield and her undead lover Bones met six years ago, they’ve fought against the rogue undead, battled a vengeful Master vampire, and pledged their devotion with a blood bond. Now it’s time for a vacation. But their hopes for a perfect Paris holiday are dashed when Cat awakes one night in terror. She’s having visions of a vampire named Gregor who’s more powerful than Bones and has ties to her past that even Cat herself didn’t know about.

Gregor believes Cat is his and he won’t stop until he has her. As the battle begins between the vamp who haunts her nightmares and the one who holds her heart, only Cat can break Gregor’s hold over her. She’ll need all the power she can summon in order to bring down the baddest bloodsucker she’s ever faced . . . even if getting that power will result in an early grave.



Another great adventure for this couple, but things are not easy and I loved seeing Cat and Bones having some difficult times in their relationships. Don’t get me wrong I love them together, but this time apart made them realise better the moments to share some things and to understand the other person. Cat is always hiding secrets and plans, but this made them see that not even death is forever.

The difficult time for me was Mencheres knowing things and not sharing. He wasn’t my favorite vampire but he did grow on me and I was hoping for him to be a good guy. So I was a little nervous in discovering his secrets. Another surprise for me was Cat change, because I did not expected to happen so soon. And she’s a completely different vampire, loved that part. Another vampire that showed a different personality was Spade. He treated Cat really bad, but I can see his point and he was right, but it was surprising for me.

This series is becoming one of my favorites.

Contact the Author: Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Series in Order

#0.5 – Reckoning
#1 – Halfway to the Grave
#2 – One Foot in the Grave
#2.5 – Happily Never After
#3 – At Grave’s End
#3.5 – Devil to Pay
#4 – Destined for an Early Grave
#4.5 – Magic Graves
#5 – This Side of the Grave
#6 – One Grave At a Time
#6.5 – Home for the Holidays
#7 – Up From the Grave (Expected publication: January 28th 2014)

Follow on Bloglovin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s