Urban Fantasy Review: This Side of the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

This Side of the Grave (Night Huntress, #5)

This Side of the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Series: Night Huntress
ISBN: 0061783188
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date:  February 22nd 2011
Number of pages: 357
Source: Bought

Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Goodreads


Danger waits on both sides of the grave.

Half-vampire Cat Crawfield and her vampire husband Bones have fought for their lives, as well as for their relationship. But just when they’ve triumphed over the latest battle, Cat’s new and unexpected abilities threaten to upset a long-standing balance . . .

With the mysterious disappearance of vampires, rumors abound that a species war is brewing. A zealot is inciting tensions between the vampires and ghouls, and if these two powerful groups clash, innocent mortals could become collateral damage. Now Cat and Bones are forced to seek help from a dangerous “ally”; the ghoul queen of New Orleans herself. But the price of her assistance may prove more treacherous than even the threat of a supernatural war . . . to say nothing of the repercussions Cat never imagined.



My first read of the year and I rushed to finish, I liked the story but the end was a little to easy, the bad was a little soft and didn’t put much of a challenge. We could see the changing from the previous books and it was predictable to see those ghouls were up to something bad pretty soon. In this book we can see Cat and Bones trying to stop the murder of vampires. Those ghouls are following some stories that Cat could kill them all.

I liked two things from this story, we have more Vlad and all those friends decided to help. Mencheres has changed a lot since Kira became his new boo and we could see a different and more soft side of him in this book. Spade also changed, but only because now life is really dangerous for Denise and he’s always worried. For me the friends and all those funny moments made this book so much fun.

Contact the Author: Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Series in Order

#0.5 – Reckoning
#1 – Halfway to the Grave
#2 – One Foot in the Grave
#2.5 – Happily Never After
#3 – At Grave’s End
#3.5 – Devil to Pay
#4 – Destined for an Early Grave
#4.5 – Magic Graves
#5 – First Drop of Crimson
#6 – Eternal Kiss of Darkness
#7 – This Side of the Grave
#8 – One Grave At a Time
#8.5 – Home for the Holidays
#9 – Once Burned
#10 – Twice Tempted
#11 – Up From the Grave (Expected publication: January 28th 2014)
#12 – Untitled

Follow on Bloglovin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s