Urban Fantasy Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

One Grave at a Time (Night Huntress, #6)

One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost
Series: Night Huntress
ISBN: 0061783196
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date:  August 30th 2011
Number of pages: 358
Source: Bought

Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Goodreads


Having narrowly averted an (under)world war, Cat Crawfield wants nothing more than a little downtime with her vampire husband, Bones. Unfortunately, her gift from New Orleans’ voodoo queen just keeps on giving–leading to a personal favor that sends them into battle once again, this time against a villainous spirit.

Centuries ago, Heinrich Kramer was a witch hunter. Now, every All Hallows Eve, he takes physical form to torture innocent women before burning them alive. This year, however, a determined Cat and Bones must risk all to send him back to the other side of eternity–forever. But how do you kill a killer who’s already long dead?



This series has grown on me, but it’s almost over and I had such a hard time finishing this book. I wanted to love this story, but it was just to simple and a little confusing too. Ghosts are not my favorite in stories, but the more strange thing was how out of nowhere now Cat is the savior of the world and now every little thing must be addressed. I think it’s understandable how Bones always gets frustrated when their plans just disappear.

My first thought was how this plot was a little strange, but we also see some developments in Cat relationship with her mother, a super plus. The new director for the government agency Cat used to work was way too creepy, but his story will have to wait until next book. Guess my problem was the ghosts.

Contact the Author: Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Series in Order

#0.5 – Reckoning
#1 – Halfway to the Grave
#2 – One Foot in the Grave
#2.5 – Happily Never After
#3 – At Grave’s End
#3.5 – Devil to Pay
#4 – Destined for an Early Grave
#4.5 – Magic Graves
#5 – First Drop of Crimson
#6 – Eternal Kiss of Darkness
#7 – This Side of the Grave
#8 – One Grave At a Time
#8.5 – Home for the Holidays
#9 – Once Burned
#10 – Twice Tempted
#11 – Up From the Grave (Expected publication: January 28th 2014)
#12 – Untitled

Follow on Bloglovin