Review: Playing the Royal Game by Carol Marinelli

Playing the Royal GameTitle: Playing the Royal Game
Author: Carol Marinelli
Series: The Santina Crown
Publisher:  Harlequin
Format: ebook from Netgalley
ISBN: 037323872X
Genre: Romance
Release date: November 13th 2012
Number of pages: 256

It seemed like every girl’s dream: fall in love with a prince and be whisked off for your very own glamorous happy-ever-after—a royal fairy tale for Allegra Jackson and Prince Alessandro Santina.

Allegra’s headline-grabbing family hardly prepared her for a life of public duty, and sinfully delicious Prince Alessandro has always seemed virtually allergic to the idea of settling down in Santa Maria.

Out of all the flamboyant, beautiful women his name’s been linked with, the heir to the throne picked ordinary Allegra with the family from hell….

Is everything really as it seems regarding the tabloid’s engagement of the year?


This is an ongoing series and I haven’t read the other books, but it was quite easy to fall in this Cinderella story and at the end I was cheering for their happy ending. After everything Allegra suffered from her family she deserved some good in her life.
Don’t get me wrong, she wasn’t abused or anything like this, but they treated her like a slave, only working to give them money and for once she was doing something for herself, but apparently it was not enough because she was still unhappy.
Alessandro needed a dose of reality for him to realize that it wasn’t necessary for him to completely distance himself from the people just to rule them. So Allegra being her friendly was actually what he needed.
I wasn’t familiar with the rest of the family, but it was really nice seeing them changing with some truths bared. The relationship changed a lot in the book and it was great to see Alessandro bare his soul for once.


#0.5 – The Life She Left Behind
#1 – The Price of Royal Duty
#2 – The Sheikh’s Heir
#3 – Santina’s Scandalous Princess
#4 – The Man Behind the Scars
#5 – Defying The Prince
#6 – Princess From The Shadows
#7 – The Girl Nobody Wanted
#8 – Playing the Royal Game