Urban Fantasy Review: Biting Bad by Chloe Neill

Biting Bad (Chicagoland Vampires, #8)

Merit has been a vampire for only a short while, but she’s already seen a lifetime’s worth of trouble. She and her Master, centuries-old Ethan Sullivan, have risked their lives time and again to save the city they love. But not all of Chicago is loving them back.
Anti-vampire riots are erupting all over town, striking vampires where it hurts the most. A splinter group armed with Molotov cocktails and deep-seated hate is intent on clearing the fanged from the Windy City come hell or high water.
Merit and her allies rush to figure out who’s behind the attacks, who will be targeted next, and whether there’s any way to stop the wanton destruction. The battle for Chicago is just beginning, and Merit is running out of time.

Title: Biting Bad
Author: Chloe Neill
Series: Chicagoland Vampires
Publisher:  NAL Penguin
Format: ebook
ISBN: 0451415183
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: August 6th 2013
Number of pages: 350


Due to its strong sexual content, this novel is recommended for readers older than 18.

I was expecting more from this book. More drama and more fight. The story was build on the last book and I was waiting for a big confrontation now with several deaths, but this time things were quiet and a bit save for me. Merit showed a softer side and I believe more in her when she lost a few rounds. Because let’s be honest she doesn’t even have one year as a vampire and couldn’t possibly win against a century old SOB from the PG.
Her relationship with Ethan sounded more natural in this book and I liked the slower pace. Plus we got to see some really romantic scenes between these two. There were some sad moments too, but Merit handled the investigation really well as always and was a breaking point in a very dangerous moment. I liked her attitude and she’s learning more about being a vampire. This book showed more Merit and Ethan trying to save the vampires so there wasn’t much fight, but I liked the change. Just think this should had happened in a earlier book.


Series in Order

#1 – Some Girls Bite
#2 – Friday Night Bites
#3 – Twice Bitten
#4 – Hard Bitten

#5 – Drink Deep
#6 – Biting Cold
#7 – House Rules
#8 – Biting Bad
#8.5 – Howling for You (Expected publication: January 7th 2014)
#9 – Wild Things (Expected publication: February 4th 2014)
#10 – Blood Games (?)


Follow on Bloglovin