Urban Fantasy Review: Heart of Venom by Jennifer Estep

Heart of Venom (Elemental Assassin, #9)

The hotly anticipated ninth novel in the hugely popular Elemental Assassin series finds Gin Blanco on a dangerous mission to rescue a friend.
When a terror from the past threatens Gin’s friend and body-disposer, Sophia, Gin will stop at nothing to protect her, even if it means walking straight into a killer’s trap. Meanwhile, the rocky romance between Gin and Owen reaches a turning point—can they reunite and rekindle their love? Or will the things Gin has been forced to do in her line of work as the deadly assassin the Spider keep them apart forever? Assuming, that is, she survives long enough to find out…

Title: Heart of Venom
Author: Jennifer Estep
Series: Elemental Assassin
Publisher:  Pocket Books
Format: ebook from Edelweiss
ISBN: 1451689004
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: August 27th 2013
Number of pages: 384

I love Gin and how protective she is of her friends and adoptive family. Everyone is really important to her and whenever someone she knows is in danger we can clearly see how much it affects her and all the hell she makes to save them. This book was intense and I spent a good portion biting my nails and hoping everything would be okay, but the story also brought some good memories and reminders for Gin of her purpose.

Sophia had some misfortune in the past and until today she is haunted by those memories, we can see she tries to hide and doesn’t trust in just anyone, but this book explained what happened all those years ago and also brought the bad guys back. Sophia was rescued by the Tin Man and that is one of the reasons Gin is so close to the Deveraux sisters.

I liked the action in this book, but for me the best part were the memories and Owen coming back. Don’t get me wrong, he was a bastard but this time he’s trying really hard and I believe Gin deserves a nice romance with a guy that understand her demons and her profession.


#0.5 – Poison
#0.6 – Web of Deceit
#0.7 –
Spider’s Bargain
#1 – Spider’s Bite
#1.5 – Web of Death
#2 – Web of Lies
#2.5 – Wasted
#3 – Venom
#3.5 – Tangled Dreams
#3.6 – Tangled Schemes
#4 – Tangled Threads
#4.5 – Spider’s Nemesis
#5 – Spider’s Revenge
#5.5 – Thread of Death
#6 – By a Thread
#7 – Widow’s Web
#8 – Deadly Sting
#9 – Heart of Venom
#10 – The Spider (Expected publication: December 24th 2013)