Urban Fantasy Review: Bitter Disenchantment by Shawntelle Madison

Bitter Disenchantment (Coveted, #0.4)

Werewolf Natalya Stravinsky’s outspoken sidekick, Aggie McClure, is featured in this prequel novella. Before Agatha set foot in South Toms River, New Jersey, she had the fight of her life to face. Destined to be the alpha female over her Manhattan pack, Aggie was fully prepared to take on her role until her father arranges a marriage without her consent. She wants out–but the only way is with money–something her new controlling husband won’t give her to escape. But such odds never kept a wolf like Aggie down. To sever the twisted tie, she finds herself pitted against raging wood nymphs and backstabbing brownies in an underground supernatural fighting ring. With every victory, the sweet taste of freedom is closer, but her husband isn’t willing to let her go that easily. Until the very end, Aggie must fight for the one thing she’s never had: a choice.

Title: Bitter Disenchantment
Author: Shawntelle Madison
Series: Coveted
Publisher:  Shawntelle Madison
Format: ebook from NetGalley
ISBN: 0988798514
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Release date: April 23rd 2013
Number of pages: 156

This was a nice little story, because we already know a bit about Aggie past and why she joined Natalya. But is different seeing things happening and how much it hurt Aggie to fight to get away.


I really liked her and the strength she demonstrated to save herself and her mother, because her cruel alpha father wants to boss everyone around him without thinking about feelings and other things.


But the worst part for me was her husband because the bastard was a two faced liar and after the wedding things changed completely and Aggie discovered herself locked in a wedding as bad as her parents had.


I really liked getting to know more of Aggie and wish we could see her finally finding a little happiness.


Series in Order

#0.4 – Bitter Disenchantment
#0.5 – Collected
#1 – Coveted
#2 – Kept
#3 – Compelled (Expected publication: 2014)


Follow on Bloglovin

Covers Revealed-March 16


Title: Kept

Author: Shawntelle Madison

Series: sequel to Coveted

Publication: November 27th 2012

No summary for now!


Title: Desire The Night 

Author: Amanda Ashley

Series: –|-

Publication: September 25th 2012

No summary for now!


Title: Starling

Author: Lesley Livingston

Series: Starling #1

Publication: August 15th 2012


"Love is just the beginning… of the end."

Mason Starling is a champion fencer for Gosforth Academy, but she’s never had to fight for her life. Until now. When a ferocious storm rips through Manhattan and unleashes terrifying creatures onto Gosforth’s campus, Mason barely escapes alive. Without help from the mysterious stranger who appeared in the midst of the storm, she might not have made it at all. But now, in the aftermath, Mason’s life begins to spin dramatically, mystically out of control, and the only one who seems able to help her is the stranger who can remember nothing but his name: Fennrys Wolf.

As Mason and Fenn uncover more about Fenn’s past and the strange events that surround them, they realize that Mason’s family — and its dark allegiance to the ancient Norse gods — is at the center of everything. A predetermined fate seems to be closing in on Mason, but is it possible to change one’s destiny?

Readers who fell in love with Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange trilogy and those who love Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series will be captivated by the sweeping romance and pulse-pounding action of Starling.


Title: Riveted

Author: Meljean Brook

Series: Iron Seas #3

Publication: September 4th 2012


A century after a devastating volcanic eruption forced Iceland’s inhabitants to abandon its shores, the island has become enshrouded in legend. But the truth behind the legends is mechanical, not magical—and the mystery of the island a matter of life and death for a community of women who once spilled noble blood to secure their freedom.

Five years ago, Annika unwittingly endangered that secret, but her sister Källa took the blame and was exiled. Now Annika serves on an airship, searching for her sister and longing to return home. But that home is threatened when scientific expedition leader David Kentewess comes aboard, looking to expose Annika’s secrets. Then disaster strikes, leaving David and Annika stranded on a glacier and pursued by a madman, with their very survival depending on keeping the heat rising between them—and generating lots of steam.


Title: Wicked Whispers 

Author: Nina Bangs

Series: Castle of Dark Dreams #6

Publication: October 2nd 2012

No summary for now!