Review: Succubus on Top by Richelle Mead

Succubus on Top by Richelle Mead
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback,
314 pages
Read: October 07 to 09, 2011
Release Date: January 1st 2008

Links:
Richelle Mead – websiteTwitterFacebook
Amazon – KindlePaperback
Book Depository – Paperback
Add it to Goodreads

Why I Started This Book:

I couldn’t stop reading after the huge cliff Richelle left in the first book.

Summary:

Georgina Kincaid’s job sucks. Literally.


Love hurts, and no one knows it better than Georgina Kincaid. If she so much as kisses Seth Mortensen, the shy, sexy, incredibly gifted Seattle writer she’s been dating, she’ll drain his life force. Georgina is a succubus-a demon who draws her power from other men’s pleasure. Admittedly, the shapeshifting and immortality perks are terrific, and yes, Georgina did choose to join the ranks of hell centuries ago. But it seems completely unfair that a she-demon whose purpose is seduction can’t get hot and heavy with the one mortal who knows and accepts her for who she is.


It’s not just her personal life that’s in chaos. Doug, Georgina’s co-worker at a local bookstore, has been exhibiting bizarre behavior, and Georgina suspects that something far more demonic than double espressos is at work. She could use help finding out, but Bastien, an irresistibly charming incubus and her best immortal friend, is preoccupied with corrupting an ultra-conservative talk radio star-and giving Georgina some highly distracting come-hither vibes. Georgina is going to have to work solo on this one-and fast because soon, Doug’s life won’t be the only one on the line.

Characters:  

My Thoughts:

I liked the fact that Georgina has found a way to continue her relationship with Seth, even though sex is a big issue for most couples, for this is huge problem taking in consideration that Seth is a good guy and make it harder for Georgie to control herself, as seen in the last book, how bad it almost ended.

Also another plus fact for this book, is the drug problem, especially since they live in a different kind of world and the author find a way to speak about the drugs problem, envolving especially the artists.

Another then, I wish for just one book that Jerome and Carter could speak freealy about what is happening, cause is weird how quiet and the looks they share. At least a little suspect.

This one didn’t exactly finish in one cliff, but at least leave open to another one on the series.

You Might Enjoy This Book If:

You liked the first one and couldn’t put it down, plus there are vampires and angels in this series, how could ot be better?

Favorite Quotes:

Sometimes I do. Sometimes I look at him…and I remember how it was when I kissed him and felt that love. It makes me want that back. I want to feel it again. I want to return to it. Other times though…other times, I’m so scared. I listen to these guys…and to Jerome…and then the doubts gnaw at me. I can’t get them out of my head. We’ve been sleeping together, you know. Literally. It hasn’t been a problem so far, but sometimes I lie awake watching him, thinking this can’t last. The longer it does…I feel like…like I’m standing on a high wire, with Seth at one end and me at the other. We’re trying to reach each other, but one misstep, one breeze, one side-glance, and I’ll fall over the edge. And keep falling and falling.”

Carter leaned toward me and brushed the hair away from the side of my face. “Don’t look down then,” he whispered.” 

 You had your heart broken much?”

He paused. “Of course. Everyone does. Part of life.”

“Tell me her name. I’ll kick her ass. I don’t want anyone hurting you.”

He rested his face against my hair, his tone even and gentle when he spoke. “You’re wondrous and powerful and gifted, but even you can’t save me from hurting. No one can do that for anyone. I can make things perfect in the fictions I create, but the real world isn’t so kind. That’s just how it is. And anyway, for every bad thing in life, there are more good things to tip the balance.”

“Like what?”

“Like little blonde nieces. And royalty checks. And you.

Other Reviews:

Smitten with reading

Rating:

Series:

  1. Succubus Blues
  2. Succubus on Top
  3. Succubus Dreams
  4. Succubus Heat
  5. Succubus Shadows
  6. Succubus Revelead

Others covers:

      

Top off Tuesday #9

What better way than to top off a good book than with a GREAT Cover!

Amanda from On a Book Bender, Christi from Smitten with Reading, and Felicia from Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog want to see the covers that made you swoon!  Feel free to play along and show us your favorite covers. Button made by Missie.

I picked Heart of Atlantis by Alyssa Day (Warriors of Atlantis #8)
The only I can say now is that is Alarics book!!