Review: Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill

Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format:
Paperback, 341 pages
Read: October 2011
Release Date: April 7th 2009


Links:
Chloe Neill – websiteTwitterFacebook
Amazon – KindlePaperback
Book Depository – Paperback
Add it to Goodreads

Why I Started This Book:

I discover this book reading a review in a blog, and since it was about vampires managed to go in my wishlist. The heroin being a female vampire is a plus along with her sense of humor.

Summary:

First in a brand new series about a Chicago graduate student’s introduction into a society of vampires.

Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but it was Merit’s. She was doing fine until a rogue vampire attacked her. But he only got a sip before he was scared away by another bloodsucker-and this one decided the best way to save her life was to make her the walking undead.

Turns out her savior was the master vampire of Cadogan House. Now she’s traded sweating over her thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan “Lord o’ the Manor” Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed, four-hundred- year-old vampire, he has centuries’ worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects her gratitude- and servitude. But an inconvenient sunlight allergy and Ethan’s attitude are the least of her concerns. Someone’s still out to get her. Her initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war-and there will be blood.

Characters: 

My Thoughts:

Some Girls Bite is the first book from Chicagoland Series. The principal character is named Merit, and she has to dealt with her new life as a vampire after an attempt of murderer on college campus.

Merit was studying late when she was attacked by a vampire. The is the human already know that vampire mingle amonst them, they’ve been ‘outed’ for a couple of months.

Ethan is a Master for Cadogan housen, a sort of sorority for vampires, and he is the one who saved Merit, since only Masters can creat new vampires.

After her transformation she has to dealt with different things, following Ethan rules being the principal one, since she didn’t chose to be a vampire.

Merit is a very important character, she has pride, a good sense of humor, and can work in a good leather vest.

She becames a Sentinel and discover that her attack wasn’t the only one, and a vampire without rules is killing humans, so she does anything to catch him.

You Might Enjoy This Book If:

You love a good vampire, a strong female, and some sexy scenes. Recommended.

Favorite Quotes:

He’s twenty-nine. And what did you think he was going to look like?”
She shrugged.
“You know-old. Grizzled. Long white beard. Scruffy robes. Loveable, smart, a little absent minded.”
I bit back a grin.
” I said ‘sorcerer,’ not ‘Dumbledore.’ So he’s hot. It could be worse.” 

As we left the kitchen, I asked, “Can I hold your sword today?”
Catcher glanced back over his shoulder and lifted a brow.
The sword,” I corrected. “The sword.”
We’ll see.” 

Stop. That was a mistake. It shouldn’t have happened.”
No?” “No.”
I could offer you more.”
What?”
Power. Access. Rewards. You’d need be available only to me.”
Are you asking me to be your mistress?”
Yes.”
Oh, my God.”
Is that a yes?”
No, Ethan, Jesus. Definitely not.” 

Other Reviews:

Ruby’s Reads
Love Vampires

Rating:

Series:

  1. Some Girls Bite
  2. Friday Night Bites
  3. Twice Bitten
  4. Hard Bitten
  5. Drink Deep (release date: November 1st 2011)
  6. Biting Cold (release date: August 2012)

Others covers:       

 Challenges:

 

October Paranormal Reading Challenge

One thought on “Review: Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill

  1. I really want to start this series! I've had it sitting on my Kindle and on my bookshelf (I got one of the books when my Borders closed), but I just keep falling behind with my TBR pile. It sounds like this first book is a good one though – maybe it's time to move it up!

Leave a comment